Never used to be an Annie Lennox fan – till now.

Never really paid much attention to Annie Lennox, either with or post Eurythmics.  But I love her Christmas album. She says she wanted to choose songs that weren’t just the usual stuff. And even the usual stuff has a twist.

For example, God Rest ye Merry Gentlemen has a middle eastern sound and a video that’s delightfully strange.

What got me checking out the album was her performance a week or so ago on Dancing with the Stars. Yes, I watch. Yes, I’ve watched it for the past six or seven seasons. No, I didn’t vote for Bristol. Yes, Maks and Brandi were robbed. But I digress. Annie performed Universal Child with a couple of stunning dancers. I was going to just post the link for the song but decided to post the dancing. Dancing makes people happy. And this is really beautiful. Once you get past the hosts.

So tomorrow I will be off to buy the album. My first shopping for Christmas. A present for me.

About saxbergonstuff

I'm a mother, a grandmother, a sister, a daughter, an auntie. When I'm not focusing on that, I'm an educator, facilitator and content designer. When I feel like it.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Music, The Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Never used to be an Annie Lennox fan – till now.

  1. David says:

    Now thems womens with credibility. Singers, dancers with soul. Thanks for sharing this, Barb. I’ve always admired Annie Lennox, never knowing why. Perhaps it’s her style. Perhaps it’s the way she makes up for less range with more heart. But I gotta ask ya, is it legit to call it christmas shopping if it’s a prezzy for you? If that’s the case christmas comes early and often in my domain, for just these kindsa finds.

    D.

What do you think?

