Things that bug me #1 – False advertising in app world

Okay, I didn’t want to do this. But I can’t help it. This is the first in an occasional series of things that just bug me. You can skip by them because they aren’t likely to have any particularly interesting threads, musings or connections despite that being what this blog claims to be.

Here is #1:

False advertising in app world.

I am new to app world. I bought myself an Iphone recently, lured partly because I like shiny things, partly because I’m a bit of a geek and partly because of the promises of all the cool – and free – things you could do with it.

Oh, I saw the tv commercials. I watched the phone run your house from afar, make you slim and beautiful, invest your hard-earned dollars and make you wealthy. And I fell for it. All of it.

Of course I suspected that the fabulously cool stuff probably wasn’t free. But I foolishly believed there was still lots of really cool stuff to be had gratis.

What I have discovered is that many free apps are only free for a basic version which doesn’t have all the really cool things. But the advertising in app world doesn’t tell you that. It’s only when you’ve downloaded the supposedly really cool app that you find out – it isn’t.

The sense of crushing disappointment is almost too much to bear.

About saxbergonstuff

I'm a mother, a grandmother, a sister, a daughter, an auntie. When I'm not focusing on that, I'm an educator, facilitator and content designer. When I feel like it.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Miscellany. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

