Rainy Days and Mondays

A bit of a whine. Sometimes we just have to indulge ourselves.

There’s an old Carpenters song called, “Rainy Days and Mondays”. It’s been running through my head today… a dratted earworm.

It’s Monday of the Victoria Day long weekend. A weekend that’s supposed to mark the start of summer. When people get serious about gardening, opening up the cottage, setting up the back deck. A weekend of family, good times, fireworks.

Talkin’ to myself and feelin’ old,

Sometimes I’d like to quit,

Nothing ever seems to fit

Hangin’ around   

Nothing to do but frown

Rainy Days and Mondays always get me down.

Sweetie was away yesterday so I spent a quiet day. Didn’t leave the house. Considered heading out to an antique shop to buy a very cool/crazy vintage deco table lamp I’d seen on Saturday. But in the end, couldn’t be bothered. Heard some fireworks after dark and looked out the window for a moment but frankly, couldn’t drum up any enthusiasm.

Today, it’s been raining on and off. Cloud over, dump water, crash thunder periodically, brighten for a bit. Repeat cycle.

This Victoria Day Monday has turned into a work day. I have a busy few weeks ahead with several weekends in row tied up doing union training and attending board meetings. So I’m trying to get ahead of some of the chores that have been neglected. Exciting stuff like laundry, unpacking suitcases so I’m ready to repack, ordering anti-bed bug stuff since it seems there are few hotels around anymore that don’t have the nasty, disgusting critters.

I’m also taking care of some paperwork. Paying bills, answering emails, preparing the paper for the week ahead. I’m not having fun. And I don’t like it.

What I’ve got they used to call the blues

Nothin’ is really wrong

Feelin’ like I don’t belong

Walkin’ around

Some kind of lonely clown

Rainy Days and Mondays always get me down.

I know I shouldn’t be whining about this. After all, I do it by choice. I believe in my union work. And when I’m facilitating training in leadership or conflict resolution, I’m happy. It matters. I think it makes a difference. I feel good about it.

But when it’s over and I’m in the unpack-repack cycle, I’m exhausted. Feeling old. Feeling sorry for myself. Bogged down in paperwork and other chores. Even the creative design of training doesn’t have quite the same zing as being with people who are keen to learn, to think, to reflect, to try something new, to reconsider beliefs.

So today I’m getting through. Getting things done. And although I’m feeling down today, I know by this time next week I will feel the exhilaration of another training course delivered, another group of people with new things to think about and do, another small step towards changing the world.

Precious? Perhaps. Lofty? I suppose.

But it’s how I feel.

Ok. Good to get that out of my system. Maybe it’s because I missed The Rapture. Back to Mount Laundry.

What I feel has come and gone before

No need to talk it out

We know what it’s all about

Hangin’ around

Nothing to do but frown

Rainy Days and Mondays always get me down.

You can watch The Carpenters here if you like. http://www.youtube.com/embed/dPmbT5XC-q0

About saxbergonstuff

I'm a mother, a grandmother, a sister, a daughter, an auntie. When I'm not focusing on that, I'm an educator, facilitator and content designer. When I feel like it.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Aging Gracefully (or trying to), Life and Family Stories, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rainy Days and Mondays

  1. Audrey Saxberg says:

    At least, your fridge didn’t die, the power didn’t go out, and your cat didn’t throw up a hairball.
    Aside from all that, a very good holiday Monday for me.

What do you think?

