Letter from Italy #3

Spanish Steps

Image by ROSS HONG KONG via Flickr

Another in a series of guest blogs from my sister as she travels in Italy. Without me.

Buon Giorno, Roma!

I start today’s dispatch from a very British style tea room at the bottom of the Spanish Steps. I am paying a lot of money for tea and cake but I don’t care. First impression of Rome is that it is very much like Paris. Only Italian.

Gathering in the streets are 100,000 protesters. I support their concerns but will do my best to be elsewhere.

The hotel is a contrast to the quirky family run place in Venice. Now I’m in an Intercontinental, marble bathrooms and all. And I can tell I’m already starting to gear up for meetings. The hotel contributes to that feeling…quirky is nice for vacation but for work one likes the predictability of a business hotel.

I’m meeting my friend and colleague Ger in twenty minutes to see a little of what’s to be seen, but most likely to start talking about the meetings. My dispatches will, alas, most likely be shorter.

I need to go back to Venice and being on vacation. I need a week there. I left unseen much more than I saw. But I want it to be a romantic trip. First one of you that finds me a likely art loving (or at least art tolerating) candidate to go with me gets a prize. (ed. I want to go! I love art! I even went to art school!)

You know what a spontaneous devil may care risk taker I am so it will not surprise you to know that I embarked on this trip with one jacket. A white one. And so far I’m happy to report that except for a little inconspicuous grubbiness around the cuffs I have managed to keep it clean. I realise that by reporting this I am tempting fate. But that’s just the kind of risk taking girl I am.

Hugs to all,
C

About saxbergonstuff

I'm a mother, a grandmother, a sister, a daughter, an auntie. When I'm not focusing on that, I'm an educator, facilitator and content designer. When I feel like it.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Guest Blogs, Life and Family Stories, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

