Guest Post – Letters from Lulu: Berlin/Amsterdam/Copenhagen

Letter #3 from my sister from her latest travels. Short and sweet.

So, I had breakfast in Berlin, lunch in Amsterdam, and dinner in Copenhagen today.

I was at the airport bright and early, and thanks to what I can only assume was German efficiency we boarded so quickly that the flight was able to leave early. (That never happens). Arrived at Schiphol airport, which is really a shopping mall that has airplanes drop in.  My meeting today was at a business park near the airport…overlooking a potato field.

potato field

A Dutch potato field. Pictures were in short supply.

The Dutch have fought hard for their agricultural land and have been making the best use of it that they can, but my colleague says that soon this potato field will be marked for offices, and it’s just a matter of time before the Dutch are buying potatoes from some other country.  The work went well, it was interesting to me but  I don’t imagine it will be particularly interesting to you, so today’s installment will be short.

My first impressions of Copenhagen are mixed. I am finding myself missing the trendy folks in Berlin; the hotel there had a weird kind of warmth, and energy, and of course that room felt like an extravagant hug.

Here in Copenhagen, I’m staying in a hotel that’s more expensive and supposedly the best business hotel in the country, which I would find alarming if I was in charge of Danish business hotels.  The location is central, but the hotel and the tired room feel like any of a hundred other hotels I’ve stayed in, and that generic anonymity tends to be loneliness-inducing. None of this is helped by the mediocre salad and sparkling water in the bar that cost a heart stopping sixty dollars.  I strolled around a little…the architecture is a mix of traditional, low rise gingerbread, and sleek modern boxes, pleasant enough, but so far not terribly compelling.  I have been looking forward to Copenhagen, it’s the new city for me on this trip, and I hope to be able to report all kinds of interesting things tomorrow and Friday.

I am watching a French thriller on tv, and it’s time to do some ironing, assuming I can find a plug.  Hmmmm………

Xoxoxoxoxox

About saxbergonstuff

I'm a mother, a grandmother, a sister, a daughter, an auntie. When I'm not focusing on that, I'm an educator, facilitator and content designer. When I feel like it.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Guest Blogs, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

